Current Projects

A hand with short nails holds up a small black card with the words 'Obstruct' on them. In the background is a Sheffield street scene with grey buildings either side of a road with double yellow lines on it. At the end of the adjoining street are old red brick buildings with scaffolding on them in a phase of redevelopment
Mon 11 October 2021 - Tue 20 December 2022
Artists: a place of their own (Paula McCloskey & Sam Vardy); Bahbak Hashemi-Nezhad; Harun... more
Wed 1 December 2021 - Thu 30 June 2022
Situated across Shire Brook Valley and Woodhouse Washlands in South Yorkshire, Wet / Lands /... more
Wed 15 September 2021 - Wed 31 August 2022
Arts organisations: Fast Familiar, Abandon Normal Devices (AND) and Arts Catalyst are pleased to... more
fud
Fri 16 October 2020 - Fri 1 April 2022
fud is a new body of work by Gary Zhexi Zhang, drawn from the artist's research into the role of... more
A hand with short nails holds up a small black card with the words 'Obstruct' on them. In the background is a Sheffield street scene with grey buildings either side of a road with double yellow lines on it. At the end of the adjoining street are old red brick buildings with scaffolding on them in a phase of redevelopment
Mon 26 July 2021 - Mon 31 October 2022
Over the next two years, Arts Catalyst will embark on a series of collective inquiries, titled... more

PAST PROJECTS

Four rocks in pastel colours with mineral formations are placed in front of a grey background. They have layered, irregular shapes and some have bright colours running through the mineral sections.
Sat 20 November 2021 - Sun 21 November 2021
Guided by the artists Goda Palekaitė and Adrijana Gvozdenović, this performance aims to open the... more
A complex map of inside a computer is printed in white on a black background with tiny text and line work
Wed 15 September 2021
At the start of 2020, Fast Familiar, Abandon Normal Devices and Arts Catalyst began The Networked... more
Caddis Fly Larvae, Underwater Film Still, Matterlurgy, 2021; courtesy the artists
Thu 29 July 2021
Join us for a walking workshop led by artist duo Matterlurgy (Helena Hunter and Mark Peter... more
Gary Zhexi Zhang, Poyers! (2021), still from computer generated video
Thu 1 July 2021
Join us for a conversation between artists Bahar Noorizadeh and Gary Zhexi Zhang inspired by Zhang’... more
A photograph of a fish swimming in murky water
Fri 4 June 2021 - Sat 3 July 2021
Gary Zhexi Zhang’s first solo UK exhibition explores operative fictions in finance, sovereignty and... more
underwater film still of plantlife
Thu 27 May 2021
Join us online on Thursday 27 May for a conversation between artist duo Matterlurgy (Helena Hunter... more
Algae Clouds, Underwater Film Still
Tue 18 May 2021 - Tue 31 August 2021
Arts Catalyst presents an online project by Matterlurgy that highlights the importance of river... more
Wed 14 April 2021
As part of EURO—VISION, artists Audrey Samson and Francisco Gallardo will be joined online by Dr... more
Wed 7 April 2021
This reading group – organised by FRAUD and co-led by Arts Catalyst’s curator Anna Santomauro –... more
FRAUD podcast image 1
Thu 1 April 2021 - Wed 30 June 2021
As part of EURO—VISION, FRAUD have created a series of podcasts that will launch weekly from the 1... more
Wed 24 March 2021
Join us for an evening of online screening and discussion curated by artist duo FRAUD as part of... more
Wed 17 March 2021
Join FRAUD for a workshop exploring the extractivist gaze of the EU’s migration policy in the... more